Little Is Much

Standard

I was on Facebook a few days ago and came across the most lovely quote from probably one of the most influential Christian women in history. How many of you have heard of Elisabeth Elliot? She and her first husband, Jim Elliot, were missionaries to the Auca Indians of Eastern Ecuador. Her husband was brutally killed by the tribe. Elisabeth returned years later to minister to the tribe of Indians who took her husband. Her story has intrigued me for years. How could a woman whose very husband was murdered by a savage group of people want to even return to the land where her beloved was killed? It could only be God. It was only God who could work in the heart of this missionary woman. He is the only one who could replace love with hate, although I seriously doubt that she had hatred in her heart.

This introduction of Mrs. Elliot brings me to a Bible verse, and I want to share it with you.

Whatsoever thy hand findeth to do, do it with thy might. – Ecclesiastes 9:10a

It doesn’t matter where we are in life or what we find ourselves doing. If you are an elementary student and you only have the responsibility to do your schoolwork, then take pride in your schoolwork. Do it to the best of your ability. If you are the leader of a big corporation, then make your work the best it can be. If you are a housewife, then make your husband and children a priority. God has put us right where he wants us for the moment. We are in the exact place he wants us to be. Work diligently, faithfully, and all for the glory of God.

If we are faithful in the little things God has given us to do, then he will give us more responsibility as we grow in him and prove to him that we can be trusted. God sometimes puts us in certain situations to see just how faithful we will be for him.

Don’t always look for a way out of your circumstances. God keeps us where we are for a reason. What is he teaching us?

Elisabeth Elliot was faithful. She did what she could to the best of her ability where she was at the moment. When she was on the mission field she worked for God and she had the right heart. She had a joyful heart. Have a love for the Lord that is so deep and strong that no matter what you do, it’s always to glorify him. Let me write what Elisabeth said….”This job has been given to me to do. Therefore, it is a gift. Therefore, it is a privilege. Therefore, it is an offering I may make to God. Therefore, it is to be done gladly, if it is done for Him. Here, not somewhere else, I may learn God’s way. In this job, not in some other, God looks for faithfulness.” Can you say this of yourself? This is my prayer.

Dear Lord, give me the faithfulness to always have you in mind as I do my tasks for the day. May I always strive to give you my best. Give me a joyful heart as I work for you. Teach me to be trustworthy, diligent, and faithful. I love you, Lord. Thank you for giving me your unconditional love as I am being molded each and every day for you.

Leave a Reply

