Spiritual Vitamins

Standard
Spiritual Vitamins

Let’s be really honest with ourselves. How many of us actually like exercising? Uhmmm……well I’m sure some of you do. You can count me out on that ‘liking’ part. I know that it is good for you. I realize that the older I get, the harder it is to keep the weight off. Not only the weight, but the other benefits to exercising as well like keeping your heart in good cardiovascular shape. It helps your stamina and being able to not get fatigued as much when you go through the day. I could go on and on with the amazing benefits to exercising. What about taking supplements or vitamins? I’m sure most of us take at least one vitamin a day to keep our bodies going strong.

Have you ever felt weak though spiritually? Like you need a new refreshing from the Lord? Are you worn out? Are you spiritually starving? In the online Bible study I’m doing, Stressed-Less Living, by Tracie Miles, she introduced me to something I’d never heard of before. Did you know that our souls actually need spiritual vitamins? Just like our bodies need vitamins to keep strong and healthy, our spiritual souls need certain ‘vitamins’ to keep our hearts healthy, too. Let’s talk about a few.

  • Prayer – It is just talking to God. Coming before him with our needs, wants, and struggles is what God wants us to do. I have to pray every day. I have to have that strength that prayer gives me to face my day. It is one lifeline to God.
  • God’s Word – Digging into God’s Word every day helps me to have the scripture I need to face spiritual battles that come my way. Believe me, they come my way, ferociously! The devil is just looking and seeking for ways to see me fall. I fall short every day. I need God’s Word, his love-letter to me, to guide my thoughts and actions.

I can definitely notice a big difference when I don’t give God the time he deserves in the morning before I start my day. I am weak spiritually. I didn’t put on the full armor of God and allow him to protect me. Satan is so cunning and deceitful. He will attack me even harder when he knows I haven’t prepared my soul for the day.

Just like our bodies need constant exercise and healthy things put in them to maintain physical strength, our spiritual souls need constant ‘healthy’ things put in them as well. Prayer and God’s Word are two of the most important spiritual vitamins I need everyday. Let’s exercise our spiritual muscle more each day and give God the credit and time he so deserves. It really does make all the difference from having a terrible, horrible day, to having one of peace and joy. I choose the latter. How about you?

Dear Jesus, I come to you asking you to help me to always seek your face each morning by acknowledging that I need my spiritual vitamins to get through the day. I need prayer, and your word to help me be strong in the faith and not be weary as the day progresses. I need spiritual nourishment for my soul. I long for it. I welcome it. May I always give you credit for all the good that comes my way. Thank you, Jesus, for loving me so much. In your name I pray, Amen.

“As the hart panteth after the water brooks, so panteth my soul after thee, O God.” – Psalm 42:1

“Hear my cry, O God; attend unto my prayer.” – Psalm 61:1

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.” – Psalm 119:105

 

2 responses »

  1. Kelley, awesome post my friend, I am learning this also,even after being in God’s Word… God’s Word and Prayer from our friends is the only thing to keep us safe from the Enemy hand… I am learning a lot through this on line bible study… So glad I am doing the on line bible study..

  2. I love how you’ve compared our spiritual health vitamins with our physical health vitamins. Taking our vitamins (of either kind) really does help us out so much. Thanks for sharing!!

    Kris (OBS Small Group Leader)

Leave a Reply

