Blessed

Standard
Blessed

Looking back on my life as a child, I remember the preacher asking people for testimonies or how they have been blessed in their lives. I always wanted to stand in front of the church and say what was on my heart. I was always so shy as a young person. So I just sat there in my seat content with listening to what everyone else said. But this doesn’t mean I didn’t have plenty to be thankful for. Yes, I am truly blessed.

I was raised in a loving, accepting Christian home as a child. I had two committed parents who determined to see that their children were brought up in the nurture and admonition of the Lord. My dad was a deacon in the church for as long as I can remember. My mother was the church pianist. My father was also the church music director and choir director. My parents were always in front of the church for every service. We were practically there every time the doors were opened and I don’t regret one single minute of it. When we went on vacation, my dad made sure we were in church on Sundays if we were going to miss our home church. Some might call this fanatical, but I call it committed. Were my parents perfect? No, not at all. They made plenty of mistakes. But they served a God who is perfect and doesn’t make mistakes. They knew the importance of raising children to understand and really know who God is. Does this guarantee that your children will turn out to be Godly men and women and serve the Lord when they grow up? No, it doesn’t. But the legacy that my parents left behind for their children will always be there. Even when the children ( myself included) stray from God, we always have the basis and foundation of who God is. We can turn to Him whenever we need Him. We know this because of the Godly parents we had.

I have been going through a difficult time in my life right now. I have really had to ‘lean into Jesus’ and learn to trust Him with every ounce of my being. I don’t have my parents to guide me now. My dad is still living and I have a wonderful relationship with him. My mother is with the Lord now. But there comes a time in your life when you, as a child of God, have to learn yourself, how to really trust God. Sure I still ask my dad for advice now and then. But my faith has to be just that. MY faith. MY trust. Not my parents. I do know without a shadow of a doubt that I am saved. I accepted Jesus into my life when I was 7 years old. But I really believe that God is molding me and refining me into something for Him. He’s teaching me through this ‘trial’ I am going through that no matter what is happening in my life, that I can and MUST trust and rely on him for strength. We must learn that God is guiding, leading, and making us into something beautiful.

Jeremiah 29:11 – “For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, saith the Lord, thoughts of peace, and not of evil, to give you an expected end.”

I am learning that no matter what I am going through, God is always there. Through the good times and bad times. Through the sunshine and rain. Through the smiles and tears.

Yes, my friend, I am really blessed. I am a princess of the KING. When I see myself as a princess of the KING, my heart smiles with unending joy. My life story is still being written.

How are you blessed? What are you thankful for?

Dear God, I come to you today, just thanking you for all you have done in my life. For what you have allowed me to do for you. For giving me good health and just simply waking me up each morning. You, God, deserve all my praise. You, God, deserve all my love. You, God, deserve all of me. I give myself to you, Lord. I ask you to use me for whatever purpose you have for my life. Help me, father, to see that you already know the outcome of my life, that all I need to do is have faith and trust in you to complete it in me. Thank you, Lord, for I am truly blessed beyond measure.

 

3 responses »

  1. What a beautiful prayer! I was blessed by reading your blog today. Thank you, princess of the KING.

  2. I love hearing about your parents, it challenges me to be a better parent. I am praying for you! {{{HUGS}}}

Leave a Reply

