Radically Encountering God

Standard

I am so excited about the in-between study, The Gap! Digging deeper in God’s Word and applying what I’ve learned is extremely satisfying to me!! I always want to get closer to God and know him better! Don’t you?

I have already learned much from Wendy Blight just from week one. I want to learn to have a prayer life that is meaningful and really taking the time to sit at Jesus’ feet. I have been convicted by something Wendy mentioned. Am I devoted to prayer? Yes, I pray. But do I have a hunger and thirst for really taking the time and develop a great prayer life? I have to say that my prayer life needs some cobwebs brushed off. This study is coming at the perfect time for me.

Sometimes we just get too busy. Not that we intentionally mean to leave God out, but we just go about our day and don’t take the time to acknowledge that God is there. I am guilty of this, but I am ready for a change. I am not content with my current prayer life. I want it better. I want it improved. Wendy mentioned a quote from Sylvia Gunther.  “Prayer is radically and gloriously encountering God, knowing Him better, loving Him more.” This is the kind of prayer life I want. How about you?

5 responses »

  1. That is the kind of prayer life I want, too!! ‘Devoted’… such a powerful word. Am I ‘devoted’? I think I have some things to think about…. thank you for this post!

  2. I can so relate to having those cobwebs on our prayer life!! I’m looking forward to learning how to get rid of them once and for all in this study! Thanks for sharing!

  3. Me too Kelley. I want that hunger. Yes I pray everyday and I have a huge prayer notebook I write down names and lift those people up, but I want to hunger more and more. Thanks for sharing.
    Debbie W.

Leave a Reply

