Be Still With Jesus

Standard
Be Still With Jesus

“When His living and active Word begins to fill our hearts, fill our minds, and fill our soul, it will condition and control our prayers in such a way that our prayers conform to His will”. 

What does this mean to you? The past three weeks of the online Bible study, In The Gap, have been very eye-opening for me. I am learning to really pray with a heart to be near and close to God. I want my prayers to be answered. I want a relationship with God that mirrors a Mary and not a Martha. I want to be available and used by God. I want to sit at Jesus feet and really get to know Him intimately. After all, He created me in His image. He created me for his pleasure. He wants to be my friend.

Notice how the first part of that saying by Wendy Blight says His living and active Word. I must be in the Word and not only reading it with a head knowledge, but applying it with heart knowledge. That is the living and active part. The part that gets real. The part where I am applying scripture to my everyday life. When I am actively seeking God and in His Word daily, then He begins to speak to me in ways that transform my life. Prayer is being active. Prayer is literally talking to God. If I want a relationship with God, then I must pray and talk to Him daily. It’s just like having a friend here on earth. If I don’t invest in that relationship, if I don’t take the time to talk and share with my friend, then many times the relationship will die. It’s no different with God. He wants and yearns to hear from me daily. He is hurt when I don’t take time for Him. He grieves when I leave Him out of my daily activities. Oh, how that saddens me!! But God doesn’t force His friendship on me. He waits patiently, silently, for me to come to Him.

When God’s Word fills my mind, it will then fill my heart which will then fill my soul. When God’s Word so saturates my life that I hunger and thirst after Him, then my prayer life will begin to transform in such a way that I will want to pray God’s will for my life. I will want what God wants for me. I will pray God’s will for my life. The things I ask God for will be in line with what He wants for my life. Am I there yet? No. I never will “arrive”. But the more time I spend in quiet solitude in His Word, the more He will reveal to me in prayer as I talk to Him. Reading God’s Word and prayer are active. It’s a relationship with God. God speaks to us through His Word, then we speak to God through prayer. It really is quite simple.

I am learning that it takes time to build a relationship with God. When I am intentional and make time for God daily, then I have a peace that comes over me. My worried heart becomes a restful heart in Jesus. Why do I so many times try to do things myself? I don’t intentionally say, “I can do it, I don’t need God.” But it’s the lack of acknowledging Him in my problems where I make mistakes. I guess it is taking Him for granted, isn’t it? Wow! That makes me want to cry.

“Oh, God, please forgive me for taking You for granted! Please help me to always rely on You. I love you with all my heart, and soul, and mind. I know You are with me all the time and will never leave me. Please be near to me and quiet my restless heart. Take my worries and problems and give me a peace that only You can give. I want to be a Mary and not a Martha. Help me to not get so busy with needless “things” that aren’t really important, and to just get quiet and still before You. In your precious and lovely name I pray, Amen.”

 

 

“Trust in the LORD with all your heart; and lean not to your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct your paths.” ~Proverbs 3:5-6

6 responses »

  1. Kelley, thanks for sharing!! My favorite line was this: I must be in the Word and not only reading it with a head knowledge, but applying it with heart knowledge. That is something I need to remember and apply myself!

    Kris Danko (OBS Small Group Leader)

  2. Thanks for sharing your heart! My eyes are being open to much of the same…grateful we can always grow closer to Christ. Our pastor often relates growing in faith to peeling an onion…we take one layer off at a time and keep growing closer to His heart!!

  3. Thanks for the reminder that God wants a relationship. He longs for us to stop and connect with Him. I too feel so much peace when I can remember to abide more.

  4. It really does take time to develop a deep relationship with God! I love how you said, living and active in the word – the part that gets real! AMEN!

Leave a Reply

