Radical Obedience

Standard

As I’m continuing in this amazing journey of the online Bible study, What Happens When Women Say Yes To God, by Lysa Terkeurst, my heart has been so blessed and it’s only week two. I honestly believed that radical obedience was surrendering to God to go to Africa as missionaries, or some huge act of obedience. What I have learned in week two of this study is that we can have radical obedience in our every day mundane activities of life. Isn’t this just amazing?!  All God asks of us is to obey Him. That’s it. Period.

My heart hasn’t necessarily been wanting to obey Him for about a month. I recently started a job that I really don’t like. Sounds crazy doesn’t it?! But what I have learned this week in Bible study is that even in our circumstances of life we can be radically obedient to God. It has totally changed my thinking and perspective on how I view things. I can go to this job and display an attitude of obedience to God. I can pray for my family and husband as I’m doing this job. My thoughts can go to God when I’m starting to whine or complain mentally to myself how much I hate what I’m doing. It really is a choice. I want to choose happiness and joy.

God is refining me. Before a diamond is that beautiful, sparkling gem that we see, it goes through a series of cuttings, polishings, etc. The result is what we see…..the diamond. God has a way of putting us in situations that at the time we don’t understand, but He knows the ending. He knows what it will take to get our attention. I want that radical obedience that Lysa mentions in chapter two. How about you?  I want God to have my whole heart not just half.

“We need not fear what our obedience will cause to happen in our life. We should only fear what our disobedience will cause us to miss.” Lysa Terkurst pg. 45

“You will seek me and find Me when you seek Me with all your heart.” – Jeremiah 29:13

 

 

 

4 responses »

  1. Thank you for reminding me that radical obedience is a daily decision. I know that God notices obedience in areas that we may think or ordinary or mundane. I am visiting from the blog hop! I hope you have a lovely day!

  2. Kelly, there is so much wisdom here. He is refining you and molding you into all He has created you to be for a specific purpose. Be encouraged. Stay joyful and trust Him. God will bless you abundantly for your radical obedience! Love, Sue (OBS Small Group Leader)

  3. I loved learning about radical obedience, too! I agree that it just changes your whole perspective especially in the mundane tasks of life. Thanks for sharing, you are a blessing to me!

Leave a Reply

