Wholly Committed

Standard

The phrase wholly committed can seem a bit scary at times. I want a deeper relationship with God. I was saved at age seven. At age fifteen I surrendered my life to Christian service. I wanted to do something in the ministry. My heart was totally sold-out for God. I finished up high school and went to a Christian college and still was on fire for God. I married and have two beautiful children. Something, though changed within my heart. Oh, I never stopped believing in God. I think I just grew complacent with my relationship with Him. I went through the motions of serving Him for several years. Going to church became a drudgery and not a joy. I stopped doing my devotions. I became very critical of the church and the people in it. What happened? I was raised in a Christian home and was brought up in the church. I knew right from wrong. I let the devil gain a stronghold in my life.

This current OBS study has really opened my eyes  and heart to the importance of not only serving God but really letting Him take control of my life. I want that deep, intimate relationship with Him that I once had. Slowly, it is coming back. I feel excitement as I get in the Word everyday and spend time with Him. I surrender my life to Him. I am totally #Amazed at what God will and can do through me if I let Him. Totally surrendered. That’s what I want for my life. This is my prayer.

“Remain in me, and I will remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine.” – John 15:4

God help me to remain in You.

3 responses »

  1. Thanks for being so open with your heart and your struggle with wanting to grow closer to the Lord. I will keep you in my prayers!! I believe that this OBS will help in your walk, because as you said, I’ve learned so much about “letting go”… giving God back the control that *I* was trying to hold on to myself, and just *surrendering* to His leading and His calling in my life!! Praying for you!! 🙂

  2. I can so relate to going through the motions. It is so easy to become complacent and take God and His grace for granted. Thank you for sharing and being an encouragement to us.

  3. Isn’t it so true that when we don’t take time to spend with our Father, life just isn’t as fun or go as well. Why then do we not make it #1 on our priority list?! I have learned this, too. I think realizing that gives me motivation to take time for Him. Great post!

Leave a Reply

